Presidio of San Francisco (March 18, 2003) -- The doors to the Presidio's past will open Saturday March 22 and March 29 as the public is invited to explore residential neighborhoods, during one-hour tours, beginning at 9:30 am and ending at 4 pm.
The docent-led tours start at the Officers' Club which is located on the Main Post at 50 Moraga Avenue. The tour is free.
The Presidio House Tour is designed to showcase what Army and domestic life was like when the military was here.
Visitors will be shuttled to homes in the PresidioGo, the park's free, alternatively fueled bus.
The initial tour covers the Main Post and the East Hills of the Presidio. The featured houses date from the Victorian Period to the 1940s.
There are nearly 1,100 housing units at the Presidio and 950 are currently leased and occupied to families.
More than 2,400 people currently live in the scenic, historic Presidio. In 1990, when the military was here, some 4,700 people called the Presidio home.
Included in the homes the public can tour is one built in 1909, which used to house families of enlisted men and a Victorian constructed in 1889 that was once officers' quarters.
In all, there are five historic homes that will be available for the public to view.
This is the first time in the lengthy Presidio history that a civilian community has begun to grow.
Last Spring the Presidio Trust offered a tour of buildings on the Main Post and nearly 3,000 people explored the area."